The Masters

There are three dedicated bridges at Augusta National, two of which are named after TGHoF members: the Hogan Bridge at the No. 12 green -- to honor Ben Hogan's then record score of 274 in 1953, and the Nelson Bridge at the No. 13 tee -- to honor Byron Nelson's performance on holes No. 12 and 13 when he won the 1937 Masters.

Texans Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson and Jimmy Demaret combined to win seven Masters from 1937-1953. In 1950 Demaret became the first three time winner at Augusta. Add in Ralph Guldahl and Jackie Burke Jr., who each won at Augusta, and the state won nine of the first 20 Masters.

Jordan Spieth's 2015 Masters win came 20 years after the last Texan to win the event (Ben Crenshaw) and 2015 was also Ben Crenshaw's last Masters Tournament.

Explore more exhibits
facebook logoinstagram logo

Texas Golf Hall of Fame

Anchor Physical Addresses:
2315 Avenue B
San Antonio, TX 78215

16124 Championship Drive
Frisco, TX 75033

Mailing Address:
448 West 19th Street, Suite #1082
Houston, TX 77008

Phone Number:

Texas Golf Hall of Fame flag

Copyright ©2023

All Rights Reserved