Class of 2020

Mike Wright

Golf Professional / Teacher

This exhibit is just getting started...

We are currently updating our inductee exhibits and capturing their stories in our ongoing archival and preservation efforts.



  • Appointed Head Professional at Shady Oaks (age 23) in 1986 with endorsement from Ben Hogan after 18 months as an Assistant Professional
  • Promoted to Director of Golf at Shady Oaks in 2000
  • Elected to PGA membership in 1986 at age 23
  • 11 Assistants promoted to Head Professional/General Manager positions
  • Instrumental in attracting/hosting the 2008 USGA Senior Amateur Championship
  • Featured in three commercials representing the Ben Hogan Company
  • Notable Students
    • Angela Stanford (one major, five-time Solheim Cup team member)
    • Gerina Piller (Olympian, three-time Solheim Cup team member)
    • Kristi McPhearson (Solheim Cup team member)
    • Cheyenne Knight (Won LPGA rookie of the year)
    • Chad Campbell (four PGA Tour wins, three-time Ryder Cup team member, three Korn Ferry wins)
    • Mark Brooks (seven PGA Tour wins, PGA Champion)
    • Cyril Bouniol (2010 DII National Champion)


  • 1993 & 2001 NTPGA Bill Strausbaugh award
  • 1994 Northern Texas PGA (NTPGA) Merchandiser of the Year
  • 2004 NTPGA Golf Professional of the Year
  • 2007 finalist -PGA of America Golf Professional of the Year
  • 2011 NTPGA Teacher of the Year
  • Five Metro Chapter NTPGA awards
  • Ben Hogan Award for contributions to the game
  • Three Shady Oaks Assistant Professionals named NTPGA Assistant of the Year
  • Service
    Ben Hogan Foundation Co-founder
    • Since 2008, the Foundation has awarded over $835,000 in scholarships and has built one and is breaking ground on a second Ben Hogan Learning Center that has served over 50,000 children.
  • NTPGA and Metro Chapter PGA leadership roles
    • Committees Chaired - NTPGA Membership, Apprentice, Awards, Club Relations
    • Committees Served - Long Range Planning, Awards, Junior Golf, Apprentice, Membership:
  • PGA of America Served - Membership and Club Relation Committees
  • Ben Hogan Company Professional Board
  • The First Tee of Fort Worth
  • The Angela Stanford Foundation


  • 1983 Alamo Chapter PGA Assistants Match Play Championship Winner
  • Low section qualifier - 1992 National Club Professional Championship
  • 1997 NTPGA Major Championship Winner (The Classic)
  • 1998 NTPGA Pro/Pro Championship Winner
  • Captain - 2001 NTPGA Joe Black Cup Team
  • Three-time member - NTPGA Joe Black Cup Team

Birthplace: San Antonio, TX

Born: June 12, 1962

facebook logoinstagram logo

Texas Golf Hall of Fame

Anchor Physical Addresses:
2315 Avenue B
San Antonio, TX 78215

16124 Championship Drive
Frisco, TX 75033

Mailing Address:
448 West 19th Street, Suite #1082
Houston, TX 77008

Phone Number:

Texas Golf Hall of Fame flag

Copyright ©2023

All Rights Reserved